Our network

91 Georgia counties under state of emergency for winter storm | News

Title (Max 100 Characters)

91 Georgia counties under state of emergency for winter storm

ATLANTA -- Georgia Gov. Nathan Deal has extended the state of emergency due to a Winter Storm Warning and Ice Storm Warning in effect.

Deal announced Tuesday morning that he added 44 counties to the original 45.

Counties currently included in the alert are Baldwin, Banks, Barrow, Bartow, Bibb, Bleckley, Burke, Butts, Carroll, Catoosa, Chattooga, Cherokee, Clarke, Clayton, Cobb, Columbia, Coweta, Crawford, Dade, Dawson, DeKalb, Douglas, Elbert, Emanuel, Fannin, Fayette, Floyd, Forsyth, Franklin, Fulton, Gilmer, Glascock, Gordon, Greene, Gwinnett, Habersham, Hall, Hancock, Haralson, Hart, Heard, Henry, Houston, Jackson, Jasper, Jefferson, Jenkins, Johnson, Jones, Laurens, Lincoln, Lumpkin, Madison, McDuffie, Meriwether, Monroe, Morgan, Murray, Newton, Oconee, Oglethorpe, Paulding, Peach, Pickens, Pike, Polk, Putnam, Rabun, Richmond, Rockdale, Screven, Spalding, Stephens, Taliaferro, Towns, Treutlen, Troup, Twiggs, Union, Upson, Walker, Walton, Warren, Washington, White, Whitfield, Wilkes and Wilkinson.

An additional two counties were added Tuesday evening -- Candler and Bulloch -- bringing the total to 91.

He will also gather the Operations Command -- which includes the director of GEMA, the DOT, State Patrol and Natural Resources. The state's Emergency Operation Center will stay open until the emergency response ends.

In a release, Deal encouraged north Georgia and metro Atlanta residents to "stay off the roads if at all possible (Monday afternoon) so that we limit traffic and make way for workers to treat the highways."

In a statement, Deal said that he requested federal assistance on Monday night. Deal says the federal declaration also allows state officials to request food, blankets and other necessities.

The federal declaration authorizes the Department of Homeland Security and the Federal Emergency Management Agency to coordinate all disaster relief efforts in the 89 counties where Deal declared a state of emergency on Monday afternoon.

Deal says FEMA is authorized to provide equipment and resources at its discretion, and the federal government is paying for 75 percent of emergency assistance is provides.

On Tuesday night, Deal visited GEMA headquarters, where employees were coordinating the state's response to the ice storm.

Tuesday evening, Atlanta Mayor Kasim Reed released a statement encouraging residents to stay indoors and delay travel until after the storm.

The City of Atlanta is under a State of Emergency as declared by our state's governor. During this storm, I ask you to stay indoors and delay traveling on roads if at all possible. If you need shelter or food, please do not hesitate to go to the Old Adamsville Recreation Center or any one of our city's fire stations. You will be safe and warm there. Georgia Power customers and City of Atlanta residents can report power outages by calling 1-888-891-0938. To report icy road conditions, please call 404-330-6333. To report downed trees or limbs, please don't try to move them yourself, call 911.

Material from the Associated Press was used in this story

* An up-to-the-minute list of closings and delays
* Weather Q&A: 11Alive answers your questions
* Atlanta residents prepare for possible winter storms